Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing eBook Collections
Books and eBooks
The Harriet Lane Handbook by Trusted by generations of residents and practitioners,The Harriet Lane Handbook remains your first choice for fast, accurate information on pediatric diagnosis and treatment. The first medical reference book written "by residents, for residents" and reviewed by expert faculty at The Johns Hopkins Hospital, it continues to provide the gold standard in point-of-care clinical information for any health care professional treating pediatric patients. "...first choice for fast and accurate information on various pediatric presentations, their diagnosis and treatment recommendations. A very portable ;compact as well as up-to-date information resource; for the front line clinicians." Reviewed by BACCH Newsletter, March 2015 Access the complete contents online at Expert Consult, including frequent updates to the trusted and comprehensive Pediatric Drug Formulary. Take advantage of the most dependable drug information available with thoroughly updated, one-of-a-kind Pediatric Formulary providing the standard of pediatric care from the leading pediatric hospital in the world. Trust thoroughly updated content that includes parameters for pediatric and neonatal septic shock; guidelines for acute management of severe traumatic brain injury; a convenient table detailing common genetic tests; a significantly extended collection of radiologic images; expanded mental health coverage; plus much more. Access information easily and quickly with reformatted sections designed make the book easier to use in print, online, or via mobile device. Rely on pocket-sized portability. The revised edition of The Harriet Lane Handbook is even more concise than ever before, featuring an increased amount of online-only content. Harriet Lane, the most trusted pediatric handbook for over 50 years, is your first and best option for help in daily diagnosis and treatment.
Publication Date: 2014-05-20
Pediatric Nursing : Caring for Children and Their Families by PEDIATRIC NURSING: CARING FOR CHILDREN AND THEIR FAMILIES, third edition, offers a dynamic and insightful guide to caring for pediatric clients. The authors embrace a holistic, family-centered approach to the care and nurturing of children in all states of health, exploring healthy growth and development milestones, as well as illness states and chronic conditions. All nursing care is framed within a family context, underscoring the importance of viewing children not just as individuals, but as members of a family. General nursing skills such as assessment, communication, and health promotion are presented within the pediatric framework to help nurses approach children and their families with an authentic, informed understanding of their conditions and needs.
Publication Date: 2011-02-07
Pediatric Primary Care by Pediatric Primary Care: Practice Guidelines for Nurses, Third Edition is an advanced practice primary care text for nursing students to use in their clinical course. This user-friendly, comprehensive text guides students through situations they will encounter with pediatric patients.The Third Edition contains updated practice guidelines in existing chapters, as well as a new chapter of common genetic disorders such as orofacial clefts,spina bifida, Turner Syndrome and Down Syndrome to name a few. Case studies and discussion questions are available in the instructor resource package. New to the Third Edition:*Chapter content updated by experts*New chapter on common genetic disorders*Case studies for common illnesses*Discussion questions in each chapter
Publication Date: 2016-01-18
AACN's Core Curriculum for Pediatric High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care Nursing by AACN Core Curriculum for Pediatric High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care, Third Edition, provides content required to deliver the best care for critically ill or injured children. As acuity increases in all inpatient departments and the practice of pediatric critical care expands beyond the acute phase of illness or injury, knowledge of pediatric critical care is more essential than ever. Pediatric acute and critical care nurses find themselves handling not only their patients, but care of their families and management of an interprofessional team of caregivers. With emphasis on evidence-based care and professionalism, this essential resource captures the professional role of the pediatric critical care nurse and the nurse's contributions to the process of continuous quality improvement. Ideal for pediatric critical care and acute care nurses, high acuity/critical care courses, and continuing education, AACN Core Curriculum for Pediatric High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care, Third Edition, contains core AACN guidelines for the highest quality nursing practice. The text covers anatomic, physiologic, cognitive, and psychosocial changes that occur throughout the pediatric lifespan. Chapters are systems focused and review developmental anatomy and physiology, clinical assessment, pharmacology, diagnostic tests, and therapeutic procedures. For each type of disease and injury, information is provided on pathophysiology, etiology, risk factors, signs and symptoms, nursing and collaborative interprofessional management, and complications. New to the Third Edition: Updated to include current patient management and the latest pediatric drug information Contains a completely new chapter on professional nursing issues, including quality, safety, communications, teamwork, work environment, and personal wellness Provides revised case studies and review questions/answers reflecting the latest version of the CCRN (R) Pediatric exam Key Features: Delivers comprehensive, current information for nursing students and those preparing for the CCRN (R) Pediatric exam Content is based on the most current standards of care, scope of practice, national guidelines, key AACN initiatives, and the AACN Certification Corporation Pediatric CCRN (R) Test Plan Presented in easy-to-read outline format for quick access to information Written and endorsed by AACN and AACN-affiliated subject matter experts Provides case studies to illustrate patient scenarios Discusses the application of AACN's Synergy Model for Patient Care in pediatric high acuity and critical care nursing practice Includes in-depth coverage of multisystem problems such as multiple trauma, toxicology, septic shock, and burns
Publication Date: 2018-05-01