Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books and eBooks
Priorities in Critical Care Nursing by Stay on top of the most important issues in high acuity, progressive, and critical care settings with Priorities in Critical Care Nursing, 8th Edition. Perfect for both practicing nurses and critical care nurses reviewing for CCRN® certification alike, this evidence-based textbook uses the latest, most authoritative research to help you identify patient priorities in order to safely and expertly manage patient care. Succinct coverage of all core critical care nursing topics includes medications, patient safety, patient education, problem identification, and interprofessional collaborative management. You'll learn how to integrate the technology of critical care with the physiological needs and psychosocial concerns of patients and families to provide the highest-quality care. Additionally, this new edition places a unique focus on interprofessional patient problems to help you learn to speak a consistent language of patient problems and work successfully as part of an interprofessional team. Need-to-know content reflects today's high acuity, progressive, and critical care environments! UNIQUE! Balanced coverage of technology and psychosocial concerns includes an emphasis on patient care priorities to help you provide the highest-quality nursing care. Consistent format features a Clinical Assessment and Diagnostic Procedures chapter followed by one or more Disorders and Therapeutic Management chapters for each content area. Strong QSEN focus incorporates Evidence-Based Practice boxes that employ the PICOT framework; Teamwork and Collaboration boxes that provide guidelines for effective handoffs, assessments, and communication between nurses and other hospital staff; and Patient Safety Alert boxes that highlight important guidelines and tips to ensure patient safety in critical care settings. Nursing management plans at the end of the book provide a complete care plan for every priority patient problem - including outcome criteria, nursing interventions, and rationales. Additional learning aids include case studies, concept maps, Collaborative Management boxes, Patient Education boxes, Priority Medication boxes, and Cultural Competency boxes. NEW! Updated evidence-based content reflects the latest meta-analyses, systematic reviews, evidence-based guidelines, and national and international protocols. NEW! Enhanced multimedia resources include 15 links to sample skills from Elsevier Clinical Skills and 25 3D animations. NEW and UNIQUE! Focus on interprofessional patient problems helps you learn to speak a consistent interprofessional language of patient problems and learn to work successfully as a team. NEW and UNIQUE! Integration of (IPEC®) Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice incorporates the four IPEC Competencies - Values/Ethics, Teams and Teamwork, Roles/Responsibilities, and Interprofessional Communication - into textbook content and case studies. NEW! Thoroughly updated case studies reflect the current "flavor" of high-acuity, progressive, and critical care settings and now include questions specifically related to QSEN competencies. NEW! Additional content on post-ICU outcomes has been added to chapters as they relate to specific disorders. NEW! Updated information on sepsis guidelines has been added to Chapter 26. NEW! More concise boxes with new table row shading enhance the book's focus on need-to-know information and improve usability.
Call Number: Call Number: WY 154 U73 2020
Publication Date: 2019-01-28
AACN Procedure Manual for High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care by The AACN Procedure Manual for High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care, 7th Edition, authored by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses, is the authoritative reference to procedures performed in high acuity, progressive, and critical care settings. It visually guides you through procedures unique to the adult critical care environment, including those performed by advanced practice nurses, in an illustrated, step-by-step format. This edition features 17 new procedures, new illustrations, and updated content throughout, reflecting the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international protocols. Authored by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses, the foremost authority in critical care nursing, the AACN Procedure Manual is the most authoritative reference to procedures performed by nurses in high acuity, progressive, and critical care settings. Comprehensive coverage includes all procedures commonly performed by nurses in high acuity, progressive, and critical care settings, including those performed by advanced practice nurses (indicated by an AP icon). A straightforward step-by-step organization uses consistent headings to make following a procedure (and finding the various supporting elements) quick and easy. Rationales for all interventions in patient and family education, assessment, patient preparation, procedure, and monitoring help you understand the reason for every step. The level of evidence is provided when an evidence base exists to substantiate an intervention, giving insight into the strength of information available. Advanced practice procedures are clearly identified with an AP icon so you can judge whether a procedure is within your scope of practice. Alphabetical Procedure Index inside the front cover provides quick access to the procedures. Written by more than 100 expert critical care nurses and extensively reviewed by more than 100 experts in critical care nursing to ensure the accuracy and currency of each procedure. Bulleted lists, tables, and detailed illustrations throughout ensure that content is easy to reference and digest. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international protocols. NEW! 17 new procedures reflect major additions to nursing practice in high acuity, progressive, and critical care settings. NEW! Engaging new illustrations of procedures, equipment, and techniques are integrated throughout.
Publication Date: 2016-12-16
AACN's Core Curriculum for Pediatric High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care Nursing by AACN Core Curriculum for Pediatric High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care, Third Edition, provides content required to deliver the best care for critically ill or injured children. As acuity increases in all inpatient departments and the practice of pediatric critical care expands beyond the acute phase of illness or injury, knowledge of pediatric critical care is more essential than ever. Pediatric acute and critical care nurses find themselves handling not only their patients, but care of their families and management of an interprofessional team of caregivers. With emphasis on evidence-based care and professionalism, this essential resource captures the professional role of the pediatric critical care nurse and the nurse's contributions to the process of continuous quality improvement. Ideal for pediatric critical care and acute care nurses, high acuity/critical care courses, and continuing education, AACN Core Curriculum for Pediatric High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care, Third Edition, contains core AACN guidelines for the highest quality nursing practice. The text covers anatomic, physiologic, cognitive, and psychosocial changes that occur throughout the pediatric lifespan. Chapters are systems focused and review developmental anatomy and physiology, clinical assessment, pharmacology, diagnostic tests, and therapeutic procedures. For each type of disease and injury, information is provided on pathophysiology, etiology, risk factors, signs and symptoms, nursing and collaborative interprofessional management, and complications. New to the Third Edition: Updated to include current patient management and the latest pediatric drug information Contains a completely new chapter on professional nursing issues, including quality, safety, communications, teamwork, work environment, and personal wellness Provides revised case studies and review questions/answers reflecting the latest version of the CCRN (R) Pediatric exam Key Features: Delivers comprehensive, current information for nursing students and those preparing for the CCRN (R) Pediatric exam Content is based on the most current standards of care, scope of practice, national guidelines, key AACN initiatives, and the AACN Certification Corporation Pediatric CCRN (R) Test Plan Presented in easy-to-read outline format for quick access to information Written and endorsed by AACN and AACN-affiliated subject matter experts Provides case studies to illustrate patient scenarios Discusses the application of AACN's Synergy Model for Patient Care in pediatric high acuity and critical care nursing practice Includes in-depth coverage of multisystem problems such as multiple trauma, toxicology, septic shock, and burns
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
National and International Resources
Nursing eBook Collections
DynaMed Critical Care Resources