Skip to main content
Database Style Resources
- Access Available through STH through 12/31/20
- View procedural video
- Tintinalli's Takeaways
- Drug reference
- Patient handouts
eBooks: online access
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Manual, Eighth Edition by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The book that belongs in the pocket of every clinician working in an acute care setting A Doody's Core Title for 2019! This portable manual encapsulates the most clinically relevant content of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Eighth Edition - the world's bestselling text on the topic -- and puts it at your fingertips, or in your pocket or backpack. Covering the full spectrum of emergency medicine in all patient populations - adult and pediatric - this full-color guide is composed of concise chapters that focus on clinical features, diagnosis and differential, and emergency management and disposition. Packing a remarkable amount of information in a compact, full-color presentation, Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Manual, Eighth Edition is enhanced by contributors from across the globe. Numerous tables and full-color photographs and illustrations enrich the text and help you deliver skillful and timely patient care. This new edition includes extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest guidelines, evidence-based protocols, and relevant research.
Publication Date: 2017-08-28
EM Resident Library Orientation
Emergency Medicine Simulation by Medical simulation has been a transformative force in medicaleducation. Through the use of increasingly sophisticatedtechnology, we are now able to simulate everything from yearlyfamily doctor visits and simple procedures to complex operationssuch as heart surgery. Now more than ever, simulation is anessential tool for delivering the highest quality training, and itcan be particularly valuable to physicians who teach in the acutecare setting, where it is not always possible or practical to allowstudents to learn by working directly with patients. This book is written and designed specifically to guide medicaleducators in emergency medicine on how to integrate medicalsimulation into their teaching and achieve optimal results. Insideyou?ll find: ? Clinical cases drawn from faculty at major teachingcenters, formatted and annotated so that they can be tailored tonovice or advanced learners and easily deployed in a diverse rangeof settings. ? Cases that cover the full spectrum of EM pathology. ? Valuable ?tips or tricks? accompanyingimages and patient data. ? A Companion Website including imaging and laboratoryresults pertinent to each case study ? presented inPowerpoint format for easy download; video clips to simulatesonogram results. An invaluable new resource for training emergency physicians,nurses, and EMTs/paramedics, Emergency Medicine SimulationWorkbook: A Tool for Bringing the Curriculum to Life provides aroadmap to the unique educational benefits of medical simulationalong with a wealth of material educators can adapt for use intheir own teaching and assessment portfolios.
Publication Date: 2013-02-18
Musculoskeletal Emergencies by Equip yourself with all the guidance you need to diagnose, stabilize and provide the initial management of MSK emergencies as effectively as possible. Optimize patient's disposition ranging from emergency department discharge to the operating room. A leading orthopaedic trauma surgeon and a respected emergency physician bridge the gap between these specialties to help you give these patients the best chances of favorable outcomes. Address emergency orthopaedics - both acute trauma and urgent general orthopaedic issues - at the point of care with the multidisciplinary guidance from experts in both trauma surgery and emergency medicine. Easily navigate the information you need to make critical decisions related to diagnosis; options for initial therapeutic intervention; disposition planning; and follow up through a consistent, templated format designed for rapid reference. Manage the full spectrum of traumatic musculoskeletal challenges, including infections, soft tissue injuries, and compartment syndrome, that you might encounter in a hospital emergency department, urgent care facility, or primary care setting. Make the best decisions for every patient with unique coverage of both adult and pediatric injuries. Access Musculoskeletal Emergencies online at www.expertconsult.com, search the complete contents, and download all the images.
Publication Date: 2012-09-07
Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice by Physical copies of Parts 1 and 2 are located at both Midtown and West Hospital Medical Libraries: non circulating; ebook also available. Title is active link.
Sets the standard for reliable, accessible, and comprehensive information to guide the clinical practice of emergency medicine. Generations of emergency medicine residents and practitioners have relied on Rosen's as the source for current information across the spectrum of emergency medicine practice.. The 9th Edition continues this tradition of excellence, offering the unparalleled clarity and authority you've come to expect from the award-winning leader in the field. Throughout the text, content is now more concise, clinically relevant, and accessible than ever before - meeting the needs of today's increasingly busy emergency medicine practitioner. Delivers clear, precise information, focused writing and references; relevant, concise information; and generous use of illustrations provide definitive guidance for every emergency situation. Offers the most immediately relevant content of any emergency medicine reference, providing diagnostic and treatment recommendations with clear indications and preferred actions. Presents the expertise and knowledge of a new generation of editors, who bring fresh insights and new perspectives to the table. Online content includes 1,200 questions and answers, as well as select video clips showing how to best perform key procedures. Includes more than 550 new figures, including new anatomy drawings, new graphs and algorithms, and new photos. Provides diligently updated content throughout, based on only the most recent and relevant medical literature. Provides improved organization in sections to enhance navigation and six new chapters: Airway Management for the Pediatric Patient; Procedural Sedation and Analgesia for the Pediatric Patient; Drug Therapy for the Pediatric Patient; Co-Morbid Medical Emergencies During Pregnancy; Drug Therapy in the Geriatric Patient; and Global and Humanitarian Emergency Medicine. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: WB 105 R815 2018
Publication Date: 2017-05-18
- Mindfulness has been shown to be effective for reducing stress, improving emotional balance, increasing self-awareness, helping with anxiety and depression, and coping more effectively with chronic pain
- developed to help Veterans, Service members, and others .provides a gradual, self-guided training program designed to help you understand and adopt a simple mindfulness practice
- Because "Laughter is the best medicine"
You know what's long, tedious and boring? Surgery. You know what isn't? This new podcast! Join Scrubs co-stars and real-life best friends Zach Braff and Donald Faison for a weekly comedy podcast where they relive the hit TV show, one episode at a time. Each week, these BFFs will discuss an episode of Scrubs, sharing behind-the-scenes stories and reminiscing on some of their favorite memories from filming. They’ll also connect with Scrubs super fans and feature beloved show cast members for exclusive interviews.
- Free and paid versions available
- click on icon above for direct access to iOS download
Commonly Accessed and High Impact Related Journals
- Create a free user account
- access review questions
- track progress
Emergency Medicine PreTest Self-Assessment and Review, Fourth Edition by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. PreTest® is the closest you can get to seeing the test before you take it. Written by clerkship faculty and reviewed by students who know what it takes to pass, this book is perfect for clerkship exam review and the USMLE Step 2CK. Emergency Medicine: PreTest® asks the right questions so you'll know the right answers. Open it and start learning what's on the test. 500 USMLE-style Q&A cover core topics on the clerkship exam Complete explanations explain each answer option Answer discussions condense essential topics for high-yield review Tested and reviewed by students who know what it takes to pass
Publication Date: 2016-02-29
Print Ed: Orthopedic Emergencies by Located at Ascension ST Health West Medical library. This book is a one-stop guide to managing acute orthopedic injuries; Unlike other handbooks. This reference provides a comprehensive, yet concise, set of diagnostic and management tools to help readers deliver optimal, evidence-based, and efficient patient care
Call Number: WE 180 M354 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-13
Vascular Emergencies by Located at Ascension STHealth West Medical Library: Of all of the clinical entities within the discipline of medicine, vascular emergencies are the most time sensitive, and the patients with these conditions are amongst the most severely ill. Emergency care providers encounter these entities on a day-to-day basis in the emergency department. Vascular emergencies by their very nature are limb and life threatening, and emergency physicians and other providers have to be expert in the care and disposition of this group of patients. Vascular Emergencies focuses on the acute presentation in the emergency department. Each chapter includes a discussion on diagnosis and treatment when resources are limited, a list of critical actions, pearls and pitfalls, and definitive care. Written by emergency physicians with unique understanding of the pertinent issues in the emergency department, this book provides practical advice for all acute care providers caring for patients with vascular emergencies.
Call Number: WG 500 R728 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-04