Skip to main content
The Effective Preceptor Handbook for Nurses by 10 print copies available for checkout (five at the Midtown library, five at the West library) and an online copy
This concise handbook provides new preceptors with the evidence-based skills needed to build supportive one-on-one teaching and learning relationships with new nurses. Nurse preceptors in training will learn how to access adult learning styles, validate competencies, and develop critical feedback and evaluation skills.
Call Number: WY 49 S95 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-28
Priorities in Critical Care Nursing by Print copy available for checkout at the Midtown library
The new edition of this text includes Integration of (IPEC®) Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice into textbook content and case studies. Additional content on post-ICU outcomes has been added to chapters as they relate to specific disorders. Updated information on sepsis guidelines has been added to Chapter 26.
Call Number: WY 154 U73 2020
Publication Date: 2019-01-28
Medical-Surgical Nursing by Two-volume set available for checkout at the West library
In this new 9th edition, you will find updated content throughout that reflects the most recent changes in practice and the latest evidence-based guidelines, particularly national and international treatment guidelines and protocols. Also, more consistent learning outcomes now incorporate QSEN and nursing concepts in a more consistent and intentional manner from chapter to chapter.
Call Number: WY 161 I36 2018
Publication Date: 2017-11-28
Nursing eBook Collections
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by Addresses what the nurse needs to know and do to perform best-practice procedures concerning infection control, specimen collection, physical assessment, drug administration, IV therapy, and hemodynamic monitoring, as well as procedures related to body systems, such as chest tube insertion, peripheral nerve stimulation, and intra-abdominal pressure monitoring.
Publication Date: 2018-11-21
Writing for Publication in Nursing by Designated a Doody's Core Title "Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, Five Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This in-depth resource on writing for nurses--clinicians, graduate students, researchers, and faculty--guides users through the entire process of writing evidence-based research papers and journal articles, disseminating clinical project findings and innovations, and preparing manuscripts for publication. The completely updated fourth edition expands the content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviews; disseminating evidence and writing papers on clinical topics; and reporting quality-improvement studies. It provides new examples of excellent writing from a varied selection of nursing journals. Woven throughout is an explanation of current writing guidelines for research such as CONSORT and PRISMA. Also included are electronic versions of useful forms and updated web resources relevant to each chapter. Chapters feature helpful tables, figures, and illustrations; learner exercises to guide development of competencies; and discussion topics designed to address the variety of challenges posed when writing for publication. The print version of the book includes searchable digital access to entire contents. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated chapters and new examples from a wide variety of nursing journalsExpanded content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviewsGuidelines for reporting different types of researchCriteria for evaluating the quality of a nursing journal and avoiding predatory journalsExamination of open-access journal marketsStrategies for interprofessional collaborationUpdated content on quality-improvement reportingTips to avoid plagiarismGuidance on writing case studies, case reports, policy papers, and articlesExpanded discussion and examples of searchable databasesElectronic versions of useful formsUpdated web resources in each chapter and in an appendix Key Features: Takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing for publicationCovers conducting and writing a literature review and writing research, review, quality-improvement, evidencebased practice, and clinical practice articlesDelivers strategies for writing all types of journal articles, chapters, books, and other forms of writingIncludes tips for turning dissertations, DNP projects, and course assignments into manuscriptsDetails the submission, editorial review, and publication processesIncludes a module for online courses in each chapterIncludes Instructor's Manual, PowerPoints, and sample syllabus
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Egan's Fundamentals of Respiratory Care by Designed for optimal student learning for over 40 years, Egan''s Fundamentals of Respiratory Care, 11th Edition provides you with the strong background you need to succeed in the field of respiratory care. Nicknamed "the Bible for respiratory care," it helps you gain a thorough understanding of the role of respiratory therapists, the scientific basis for treatment, and clinical applications. Comprehensive chapters correlate to the most up-to-date 2015 NBRC Detailed Content Outline for the TM-CE to successfully prepare you for clinical and credentialing exam success. Always in step with the ever-changing field of respiratory care, this easy-to-read new edition features five new chapters, as well as new information on online charting systems, patient databases, research databases, meaningful use, simulation, and an expanded discussion of the electronic medical record system. User-friendly full-color design calls attention to special features to enhance learning. Evolve learning resources include PowerPoint slides, Test Bank questions, an English-Spanish glossary, an image collection, a Body Spectrum Anatomy Coloring Book, and student lecture notes that enhance instructors'' teaching and students'' learning. Student Workbook reflects the text''s updated content and serves as a practical study guide offering numerous case studies, experiments, and hands-on activities. Therapist-Driven Protocols (TDPs) used by RTs in hospitals to assess a patient, initiate care, and evaluate outcomes, are incorporated throughout the text to develop your critical thinking skills and teach the value of following an established protocol. Expert authorship from the leading figures in respiratory care ensures that critical content is covered thoroughly and accurately. Excerpts of 40 published Clinical Practice Guidelines provide you with important information regarding patient care, indications/contraindications, hazards and complications, assessment of need, and assessment of outcome and monitoring. UNIQUE! Egan''s trusted reputation as the preeminent fundamental respiratory care textbook for more than 40 years maintains its student focus and comprehensive coverage while keeping in step with the profession. Updated content reflects changes in the industry to ensure it is both current and clinically accurate and prepares you for a career as a respiratory therapist in today''s health care environment. UNIQUE! Mini Clinis give you an opportunity to apply text content to actual patient care through short, critical-thinking case scenarios. Mini Clinis can also be used as a point of focus in class discussion to strengthen students'' critical thinking skills. UNIQUE! Rules of Thumb highlight rules, formulas, and key points that are important to clinical practice. Bulleted learning objectives aligned with summary checklists to highlight key content at the beginning and at the end of each chapter, paralleling the three areas tested on the 2015 NBRC Therapist Multiple-Choice Examination: recall, analysis, and application. NEW! Five all-new chapters bring you the most current information on the fundamentals of respiratory care research, flexible bronchoscopy, trauma, burns, near drowning, patient ventilator interaction, and extracorporeal life support (ECLS). NEW and EXPANDED! The latest information on online charting systems, patient databases, research databases, meaningful use, and simulation, plus an expanded discussion of the electronic medical record system, provides you with the knowledge needed for clinical and examination success. NEW! All chapters correlate to the most up-to-date 2015 NBRC Detailed Content Outline for the Therapist Multiple-Choice Examination (TM-CE) so you are prepared to excel on the NBRC credentialing examination. NEW! Easy-to-read, updated chapters with new data in respiratory care, a more fluid writing style, and an improved reading level help you better understand difficult concepts.
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
The ASPEN Adult Nutrition Support Core Curriculum, Third Edition by
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
High-Impact & Popular Journals
National & International Resources
CPD Related & Continuing Education e-Resources
Donna Wright Competency Model
Visit the website at https://chcm.com/solutions/competency/
Preceptor Development: Jam Site
This document explains how to access Ascension's Jam site. Once you log in with your work credentials and reach the Jam site, use the search window at the top of the webpage to find the Clinical Preceptors group. Then request access to the group's content.
Joanna Briggs Institute
Visit the website at https://joannabriggs.org/
JBI considers international evidence related to the feasibility, appropriateness, meaningfulness and effectiveness of healthcare interventions; includes it in a systematic review; globally disseminates information in appropriate, relevant formats to inform health systems, health professionals and consumers; and provides programs to enable the effective implementation of evidence and evaluation of its impact on practice.
Ascension Education Resource Center
The Ascension Education Resource Center offers one location for you to find information related to education resources, such as request forms, tools, data, and dashboards. The current version is our M.V.P. and we are committed to collaborating with our education partners throughout Ascension to include new information as it becomes available. The Education Resource Center will replace the previous education request form that was found on REDCap