Skip to main content
Red Book 2018 by Extending an 8-decade tradition of excellence, Red Book® provides the most reliable and clinically useful information on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases. The 31st edition provides evidence-based guidance to practicing clinicians on pediatric infections and vaccinations based on the recommendations of the committee as well as the combined expertise of the CDC, the FDA, and hundreds physician contributors. New in Red Book 2018: All chapters were assessed for relevance given the dynamic environment in pediatric medicine today and every chapter has been modified since the last edition 3 new chapters added (Chikungunya, Coagulase-Negative Staphylococcal Infections, and Zika). Standardized approaches to disease prevention through immunizations, antimicrobial prophylaxis, and infection-control practices have been updated throughout Recommendations for the use of doxycycline have been liberalized. References to evidence-based policy recommendations have been recommended Appropriate chapters have been updated to be consistent with 2018 AAP and CDC vaccine recommendations, CDC recommendations for immunization of health care personnel, and drug recommendations from 2018 Nelson's Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy. Red Book® is an indispensable reference for pediatricians and pediatric infectious disease specialists and is useful for family medicine and emergency medicine physicians as well. Public health and school health professionals, medical residents, and students also will find it a high-yield source of pediatric infectious disease and vaccine information.
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
CDC Yellow Book 2020 by The definitive reference for travel medicine, updated for 2020!The CDC Yellow Book offers everything travelers and healthcare providers need to know for safe and healthy travel abroad. This 2020 edition includes:- Country-specific risk guidelines for yellow fever and malaria, including expert recommendations and 26 detailed, country-level maps- Detailed maps showing distribution of travel-related illnesses, including dengue, Japanese encephalitis, meningococcal meningitis, and schistosomiasis- Guidelines for self-treating common travel conditions, including altitude illness, jet lag, motion sickness, and travelers' diarrhea- Expert guidance on food and drink precautions to avoid illness, plus water-disinfection techniques for travel to remote destinations- Specialized guidelines for non-leisure travelers, study abroad, work-related travel, and travel to mass gatherings- Advice on medical tourism, complementary and integrative health approaches, and counterfeit drugs- Updated guidance for pre-travel consultations- Advice for obtaining healthcare abroad, including guidance on different types of travel insurance- Health insights around 15 popular tourist destinations and itineraries- Recommendations for traveling with infants and children- Advising travelers with specific needs, including those with chronic medical conditions or weakened immune systems, health care workers, humanitarian aid workers, long-term travelers and expatriates, and last-minute travelers- Considerations for newly arrived adoptees, immigrants, and refugeesLong the most trusted book of its kind, the CDC Yellow Book is an essential resource in an ever-changing field -- and an ever-changing world.
Publication Date: 2019-06-11
Practical Handbook of Advanced Interventional Cardiology by Written and edited by today's most-recognized inteventionalcardiology thought leaders, this popular guide focuses on keyprocedures and techniques. Each strategic or tactical move isgraded by complexity level and described in a simple, step-by-stepapproach that includes guidance on how to overcome practicaldifficulties and navigate particularly challenging clinicalscenarios and complications. It offers interventional cardiologists, fellows ininterventional cardiology, cath lab nurses and technicians;vascular surgeons and fellows, interventional radiologists: "Tips and tricks" gathered from the personal experienceof over fifty international experts Clear, practical, step-by-step guidance onthe latest procedures and techniques, performing challenginginterventions, and managing complications and other difficultsituations where evidence may be limited or inconsistent New coverage of hot topics such as percutaneous aorticvalve replacement, renal artery ablation, intracranialinterventions, and more
Publication Date: 2013-01-22
Family and Internal Medicine
- Patient-information tool created by the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP)
- Common conditions, medical diseases, treatments and health tips (many available in Spanish) are presented alphabetically and can be searched in STAT!Ref online
Resources for all Interests
The A. S. P. E. N. Pediatric Nutrition Support Core Curriculum by The A.S.P.E.N. pediatric core curriculum focuses on the pediatric patient and the
importance of nutrition to the growth and development of children. It is written with an
interdisciplinary evidence-based approach and is designed to meet the educational needs of any discipline involved in the nutrition care of pediatric patients.
This curriculum is designed to logically progress from the basic nutrition physiology and changes that occur during development to the skills needed to provide appropriate nutrition for pediatric patients. In each chapter, didactic tools like learning objectives stress important information and “test your knowledge” questions help measure whether the important concepts were acquired. This is a valuable resource for certification preparation and the daily nutrition care of pediatric patients. The curriculum covers:
· Introductory information about the mechanics of nutrition intake and changes that occur with development
· Age-specific nutrition from fetal development through childhood/adolescence
· Various disease states that affect the pediatric population and related nutrition issues
· Nutrition care of the pediatric patient
Publication Date: 2011-11-30
Resident Focused Resources
- Create a free user account
- access review questions
- track progress
Psychiatry & Behavioral/Mental Health
- Focused on the interdisciplinary aspects of the worldwide behavioral and social science research and literature, PsycInfo is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines — from the historical to the cutting edge.
Clinician's Guide to Evidence-Based Practices by Everyone, it seems, is talking and arguing about Evidence-Based Practice (EBP). Those therapies and assessments designated as EBP increasingly determine what is taught, researched, and reimbursed in health care. But exactly what is it, and how do you do it? The second edition of Clinician's Guide to Evidence-Based Practices is the concise, practitioner-friendly guide to applying EBPs in mental health. Step-by-step it explains how to conduct the entire EBP process-asking the right questions, accessing the best available research, appraising the research, translating that research into practice, integrating that research with clinician expertise and patient characteristics, evaluating the entire enterprise, attending to the ethical considerations, and when done, moving the EBP process forward by teaching and disseminating it. This book will help you: #65533; Formulate useful questions that research can address #65533; Search the research literature efficiently for best practices #65533; Make sense out of the research morass, sifting wheat from chaff #65533; Incorporate patient values and diversity into the selection of EBP #65533; Blend clinician expertise with the research evidence #65533; Translate empirical research into practice #65533; Ensure that your clients receive effective, research-supported services #65533; Infuse the EBP process into your organizational setting and training methods #65533; Identify and integrate ethics in the context of EBP Coauthored by a distinguished quartet of clinicians, researchers, and a health care librarian, the Clinician's Guide has become the classic for graduate students and busy professionals mastering EBP.
Publication Date: 2016-12-06
National & International Resources
COPD & Respiratory Care
Egan's Fundamentals of Respiratory Care by Designed for optimal student learning for over 40 years, Egan''s Fundamentals of Respiratory Care, 11th Edition provides you with the strong background you need to succeed in the field of respiratory care. Nicknamed "the Bible for respiratory care," it helps you gain a thorough understanding of the role of respiratory therapists, the scientific basis for treatment, and clinical applications. Comprehensive chapters correlate to the most up-to-date 2015 NBRC Detailed Content Outline for the TM-CE to successfully prepare you for clinical and credentialing exam success. Always in step with the ever-changing field of respiratory care, this easy-to-read new edition features five new chapters, as well as new information on online charting systems, patient databases, research databases, meaningful use, simulation, and an expanded discussion of the electronic medical record system. User-friendly full-color design calls attention to special features to enhance learning. Evolve learning resources include PowerPoint slides, Test Bank questions, an English-Spanish glossary, an image collection, a Body Spectrum Anatomy Coloring Book, and student lecture notes that enhance instructors'' teaching and students'' learning. Student Workbook reflects the text''s updated content and serves as a practical study guide offering numerous case studies, experiments, and hands-on activities. Therapist-Driven Protocols (TDPs) used by RTs in hospitals to assess a patient, initiate care, and evaluate outcomes, are incorporated throughout the text to develop your critical thinking skills and teach the value of following an established protocol. Expert authorship from the leading figures in respiratory care ensures that critical content is covered thoroughly and accurately. Excerpts of 40 published Clinical Practice Guidelines provide you with important information regarding patient care, indications/contraindications, hazards and complications, assessment of need, and assessment of outcome and monitoring. UNIQUE! Egan''s trusted reputation as the preeminent fundamental respiratory care textbook for more than 40 years maintains its student focus and comprehensive coverage while keeping in step with the profession. Updated content reflects changes in the industry to ensure it is both current and clinically accurate and prepares you for a career as a respiratory therapist in today''s health care environment. UNIQUE! Mini Clinis give you an opportunity to apply text content to actual patient care through short, critical-thinking case scenarios. Mini Clinis can also be used as a point of focus in class discussion to strengthen students'' critical thinking skills. UNIQUE! Rules of Thumb highlight rules, formulas, and key points that are important to clinical practice. Bulleted learning objectives aligned with summary checklists to highlight key content at the beginning and at the end of each chapter, paralleling the three areas tested on the 2015 NBRC Therapist Multiple-Choice Examination: recall, analysis, and application. NEW! Five all-new chapters bring you the most current information on the fundamentals of respiratory care research, flexible bronchoscopy, trauma, burns, near drowning, patient ventilator interaction, and extracorporeal life support (ECLS). NEW and EXPANDED! The latest information on online charting systems, patient databases, research databases, meaningful use, and simulation, plus an expanded discussion of the electronic medical record system, provides you with the knowledge needed for clinical and examination success. NEW! All chapters correlate to the most up-to-date 2015 NBRC Detailed Content Outline for the Therapist Multiple-Choice Examination (TM-CE) so you are prepared to excel on the NBRC credentialing examination. NEW! Easy-to-read, updated chapters with new data in respiratory care, a more fluid writing style, and an improved reading level help you better understand difficult concepts.
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
LABs & Calculators
Acute and Critical Care Formulas and Laboratory Values by This pocket guide is a single-volume source of the most common and important formulas and laboratory values used in the daily practice of acute care and critical care medicine.nbsp; Information is presented in outline format and as tables, graphics, and algorithms to facilitate quick look up.nbsp; Acute and Critical Care Formulas and Laboratory Values is designed to help clinicians to interpret clinical data, to apply formulas, and to understand laboratory values, and to integrate this information with their knowledge of pathophysiology to promote the delivery of evidence-based care. *nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Essential formulas and laboratory values *nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Multiple ways to derive a value, where appropriate *nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Non-clinical formulas useful for understanding physiologic concepts or that underlie diagnostic tests or clinical measurementnbsp; included *nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Chapters divided by organ system *nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Practical appendixes of "Abbreviations" and "Key Telephone Numbers" *nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; A special "Notes" section for recording frequently used formulas
Publication Date: 2013-09-25
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications by Fast Find: Lab and Dx--The complete F.A. Davis Lab & Diagnostic Test database online U.S. and Canadian content Searchable and printable Mobile and tablet friendly "Potential Nursing Problems" tables within many studies that present problems, signs and symptoms, and interventions related to the study 'Common Use' for each monograph to provide an at-a-glance description of what the test is for, presented in everyday language that patients will understand Monographs that focus on what you need to do before, during, and after each laboratory and diagnostic test, including... Patient Teaching Detailed coverage of patient safety "Sensitivity to Social and Cultural Issues" and "Nutritional Considerations," where appropriate Diagnostic imaging monographs with explanations of the reasons for the test result Pathophysiology information that explains why a lab test result is increased or decreased Reference Ranges that are expressed in both conventional and SI units (with the SI unit conversion factor) and include age- and gender-specific variations when indicated and normal variations due to cultural considerations Interfering Factors, including food, natural products, timing of test, handling of specimen, underlying patient conditions, and drugs that may interfere with the results of the test Unique coverage of laboratory and diagnostic tests for subspecialties, such as maternity, therapeutic drug monitoring, nutrition and sensory Cross referencing of related lab and diagnostic tests in every monograph "Body System" appendix that includes therapeutic drug monitoring and toxicology as well as nutrition-related lab tests
Publication Date: 2019-03-15
Transgender and LGBTQ+ Focused Resources