Skip to main content

Saint Thomas Medical Libraries: Our Services

Direct links to some of the many resources Ascension-Saint Thomas Health provides access to. For additional resources use the search box on "HOME" page of library website

Areas for Quiet Study

Julius Jacobs Health Sciences Library at Saint Thomas West Hospital provides a whiteboard, areas for quiet and collaborative study and a physical collection of medical text and periodicals. Additionally there are four standard desktop computers connected to the internet. Printing, copying, scanning and FAX are available.

The library is on the first floor off the main hallway of the hospital, just past the sky bridge from Seton Garage. Look for overhead signage to help direct you to the library.

Hours: Library is open M-Th 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM, F 8 AM to NOON
Badge-accessible 24/7
Contact: Christy Tyson BSDH MLIS 
Phone: (615) 222-3051
Fax: (615) 222-6711
Email: 
christina.tyson@ascension.org


Midtown Medical Library at Saint Thomas Midtown Hospital provides a whiteboard within an open space that is conducive to quiet study and reading. Additionally, two standard desktop computers that are connected to the hospital's network are available for use. Printing, copying, scanning, and FAX are available.

The library is on the main floor of the hospital in the hallway to the left of the main entrance. Look for signage at the double doors of the library.

Hours: Library serves Saint Thomas Health providers, residents, and staff; it is staffed M-F 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM
Badge-accessible 24/7
Contact: Ellen Kimbro MLIS 
Phone: (615) 284-5373
Fax: (615) 284-5861.
Email: e
llen.kimbro@ascension.org

*NOTE: Because schedules vary, it is always best to call first before visiting if you need to speak with a librarian.

Article Requests & Literature Searches

Article Requests
While searching databases, if you find articles you cannot access in full text, Saint Thomas Health's medical librarians can make arrangements to provide them to you.

We will let you know we have received your request and will send you regular status updates.

Literature Searches
Saint Thomas Health's medical librarians can provide literature searches for affiliates of Ascension Health.

             

Tennessee Library for Accessible Books & Media

Ascension Saint Thomas Health Medical Libraries (STHML) has partnered with the Tennessee Library for Accessible Books & Media (LABM) in order to help disseminate and facilitate information and service for this state and nationally funded free service.

LABM services are available for:

  • Anyone (adults and children) who has difficulty seeing regular print
  • Anyone who cannot hold a book or turn pages
  • Anyone who has a reading disability

Services are available nationwide. Patients who sign up in Tennessee can receive home delivery and access to services.

Services include:

  • physical books in large print and braille
  • books in MP3 format through a downloadable application
  • a digital talking book player and books on digital media for the player
  • more then 20,000 audio, braille and large print titles for children
  • call in daily audio news via phone

Midtown and West library sites have the following available:

  • Braille Alphabet cards
  • applications
  • information
  • scanning, fax and email needed to process application
  • email a scan of your completed application for processing: MedicalLibraries@ascension.org

Click here to access the LABM website, get more information, and fill out an application online.

Access to Books & eBooks

Borrowing Policy
Physical collection circulation is reserved for Saint Thomas associates. Users must fill out our interactive registration form before borrowing materials. Loan period is two weeks, with one two-week renewal permissible. For renewals, please email MedicalLibraries@ascension.org.

Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary loan may be an option for requested material not included in our collection, in print format only.
*NOTE: Lending policies for print books we do not own are set by those libraries from which we borrow them. In addition, lending libraries' licensing agreements with publishers prohibit those institutions from loaning eBook content through Interlibrary Loan.


                           

Copyright Guidelines & the Law

Saint Thomas Health Medical Libraries follows all federal copyright laws and guidelines. Photocopying and other reproductions is regulated by Title 17, United States Code, which governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials.

Saint Thomas Health Medical Libraries
STHmedicallibraries@ascension.org